From Nature to Nurture

…continued from “Country Girl

I was living alone for the first time in my life.  At home, on the farm, we had a large house.  I had to climb two full flights of steps just to reach my bedroom.  Also, I lived at home with six other people- my parents, two of my sisters, and my two brothers.  There was always someone going in and out of the house throughout the entire day.

Night was the worst part of everyday until Paul and I married and he moved into the apartment with me.  I remember returning from eating dinner with Paul and his mother.  It would be dark outside, and I’d be rushing to turn the key and unlock the bottom door as fast as possible.  I slept in the spare bedroom.  It’s much smaller and therefore not as scary as our huge master bedroom.  Having said that, I’d still shove something up against the door to hinder the entrance of an intruder into my room.  It would also serve as an alert to me as I am an extremely light sleeper and will awaken by the faintest sound.  Yes, a pet would have been a most welcome roommate for me in those days of living alone.

Paul and I married on June 30, 2007.  After that, we were adjusting to married life.  I was morphing into a capable house wife.  Like my mother, I enjoy cooking, and I could finally put my skills to use creating home cooked meals for my new husband.  This was my way of showing Paul that I appreciated his hard work in providing for our family of two.

Paul and me

By January 2009, however, I realized that something was missing from my life.  There was a large void that I could no longer bear.   I knew that our apartment lease stated that no pets were permitted.  However, I also thought that our prompt payment of the monthly rent for two years could work in my favor.  I thought, “The worst thing he can do is say ‘no’”.  At this point, I didn’t think a dog would be the most practical pet for our living situation.  Our apartment sits in an alley, and we have no yard.  After weeks of thorough research on the internet and in books, Paul called our landlord and asked if we could get a rabbit.

What’d he say?”  I asked Paul with guarded anticipation.

He said ‘sure, that it was no problem’”.

I couldn’t believe it!  After almost two years of living in a home with not so much as a goldfish, I was getting a pet rabbit, and all it took was a phone call!  Like any responsible and anxious mother-to-be, I began making plans for the “nursery”, or in this case, the bunny room.  As I am an accomplished “list-maker”, a detailed and itemized list for bunny things was carefully thought out and neatly written, and I was glowing.  Paul and I made several shopping trips to pet supply stores to purchase only the best for our soon-to-arrive fur-baby.  By this time, the realization that we would be adopting a type of pet that I had never had in my care before was starting to make me a little nervous.  Would I be able to meet any and every unplanned situation with success?

I’m a huge advocate for adopting pets.  As such, my husband and I set the example by contacting BunnyPeople, a non-profit, all volunteer, rabbit organization in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.  After all the research, prepping the bunny room, and bunny-proofing our apartment, the day had finally arrived for us to travel an hour to the bunny shelter and choose our first pet as a couple.  For my husband, though, this furry bundle of binkies was to be his first pet, ever.

*Note*- A binky is a jump and a twist at the same time when a bunny is being playful.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

